Home > Services > Collaboration and Communication Services > Teams > Meeting recordings in Microsoft Teams

Meeting recordings in Microsoft Teams

Microsoft Teams has been instrumental in ensuring that scheduled and urgent meetings can continue without having to be cancelled or delayed until after the lockdown. Each meeting scheduled in Teams can be recorded, depending on the settings that the meeting organiser has put in place.

By default, at UCT, all meeting recordings are available to those who were invited to the meeting and not only those who attended. The owner must give access to participants who were unable to attend the meeting, even if they are from UCT. Alternatively, an owner can manually choose to make a recording visible to everyone in an organisation (such as UCT), using the options outlined below.

Meeting roles

An organiser is the person who scheduled the meeting. They can then invite attendees and set permissions that determine who should be presenters and who should simply be attendees.

Essentially a presenter has the same capabilities as that of the organiser. They can admit people from the lobby, share content, take control of someone else’s presentation, mute and remove participants, change roles and stop or start the recording of the meeting.

An attendee can only speak, share their video, use the chat functionality and privately view a shared presentation.

View a detailed list of each role’s capabilities.

The owner of a recording of a meeting is the person who started the recording.

External participants

If a meeting is scheduled via a Teams channel, guests or external parties invited to the meeting will not be able to access any of the Teams content, including the chat history, recordings and documents. Documentation applicable to the meeting will need to be sent to external parties using another mechanism (i.e. email, OneDrive link, etc.).

Where guests are added as members of a team they will be able to access the relevant information such as chat history and documents, but not recordings.

Join a team as an external participant
  1. As a guest you will receive an email informing you that you are now a team member. If you do not receive an email, download Teams.
  2. Enter your email address used to create your account on Teams and click Sign in.
  3. A pop up will appear prompting you to request a code from Microsoft. Click Send code. The code is valid for 30 minutes and will be emailed to you.
  4. Enter the code and click Sign in.
  5. Ensure that the Allow my organisation to manage my device checkbox is cleared and click No, sign in to this app only.
  6. Select University of Cape Town (Guest) from the drop down menu.
  7. In order for Microsoft to create a user account, click Next
  8. Create a password and click Next.
  9. A verification code will be sent to your mailbox. Enter the verification code and clear the I would like information, tips, and offers about Microsoft products and service checkbox. Click Next.
  10. Enter the characters in the provided field and click Next > Accept.
  11. Enter your password again and click Sign in.
  12. You now have access to the relevant team.

 

Set permissions via Meetings options

Before a meeting: Open the meeting invite and click Meeting options.

During a meeting: In the meetings control bar click Show participants > Manage permissions.

A Teams webpage opens allowing you to set the following options:

  • Who can bypass the lobby?
    • Everyone
    • People in my organisation and trusted organisations
    • People in my organisations
  • Always let callers bypass the lobby
    • Yes
    • No
  • Announce when callers join or leave
    • Yes
    • No
  • Who can present?
    • Everyone
    • People in my organization
    • Specific people
    • Only me

During the meeting

At the start of the meeting, you can allocate the various roles, if necessary, and check who is in the meeting under Tracking.

Each department and faculty can provide recommendations about which meetings must be recorded, which meetings should not be recorded and for which meetings recordings are optional.

To record a meeting, first inform attendees that the meeting will be recorded. If there are no objections, go to the meeting controls and select More options ··· > Start recording. A pop up will appear at the top of the meeting screen informing all in attendance that the recording has started.

To stop a recording click More options ··· > Stop recording.

It is worth noting that any participant can start and stop a recording unless they are from an external organisation, a guest, or listed as anonymous.  Additionally, only one recording can take place at a time.

Manage recordings

The person who started the recording is automatically the owner of the video. Only a recording owner can manage what happens to the recording thereafter, unless they give permission to other participants to record and view recordings.

When a recording is stopped, the owner receives an email indicating that the recording is available in Microsoft Stream. It is worthwhile noting that meeting recordings will no longer be automatically uploaded to Microsoft Stream from 20 August 2020 for students and third parties. It will be available for download via the meeting chat for 21 days. To share or archive, download recordings and upload them to a team, channel, Microsoft Stream, SharePoint or OneDrive for Business.

At this point, everyone who attended the meeting can view the recording in the meeting’s chat history or by going to Microsoft Stream although the owner can set who can and cannot view the recording. Those who were unable to attend, will need to be given permission by the owner to view it. 

  1. In Microsoft Teams, go to the meet chat history and click ··· (More options) > Open in Microsoft Stream.
  2. In Microsoft Stream, under the video click ··· > Edit.
  3. In the Permissions section, select one of the following options.
    • If you would like Allow everyone in your company to view the video, ensure this check box is selected.
      NB: If you select this option, everyone at UCT will be able to view the recording on Microsoft Stream.
    • If not everyone, then clear the check box and use the Shared with option. You can then share the recording with groups, channels or people.
    • If you opted for the Shared with option, in the Viewer section, add whether these groups or people can be owners or have view only permission. You can also select which attendees can view the recording.
  4. You can then share the recording link by navigating to the recording in the meeting’s chat history and click ··· (More options) > Get link. Please ensure that you set permissions on who can view the recording
  5. Click Copy and send the link either via Teams chat or email.

Additionally, see how you can use Microsoft Stream to grant permission for groups and channels.

One of the benefits of using Stream is that you can add captions and subtitles to videos. Alternatively, if you only require transcription follow these instructions to access that information

Microsoft has added a new feature where recording owners can share a recording directly via the chat. When sharing via the meeting chat, do not click Share in the pop-up box that appears as this will share it with the whole organisation. Rather click ··· More options and apply the necessary settings.

Note:

  • A recording continues even if the person who started the recording leaves the meeting.
  • The recording automatically stops when everyone leaves the meeting.
  • If someone forgets to leave the meeting, the recording automatically ends after four hours.

View a meeting recording

If you have been given access to a recording use one of the following methods to view it.

View videos in Microsoft Teams

View videos in Microsoft Stream

Go to the meeting’s Chat history to find the recording and click Play.

 

  1. In Microsoft Teams, in the left side bar click ··· (More added apps) > Stream > Microsoft Stream.
  2. In the Microsoft Stream portal click Discover > Videos.
  3. All videos that are visible to everyone in the organisation will be displayed.
  4. Enter your name in the search bar to view videos that you participated in.