Mobile data rollout for March 2021

23 Feb 2021 - 17:00

Mobile networks will start the next data allocations from 5 March 2021. These rollouts will take several days. Please note that there may be a gap between your current bundle’s expiry and the time when the new bundle is issued. This is necessary for all four mobile network operators to co-ordinate the provisioning across the student body.
 

Students back in res will not receive mobile data bundles from UCT

Please note that if you are now in your res, you will not qualify for mobile data top-ups as you have access to UCT’s WiFi service – eduroam.

To connect to the service, please follow the instructions on the ICTS website.
 

Make sure your number is up-to-date

If you have changed your South African mobile number since the last data allocation, please make sure you update the SA Cellular field in PeopleSoft by Monday 1 March 2021. If your correct mobile number is not saved in this field, you will not receive a data bundle, even if your number is in another field.

  1. Log on to PeopleSoft with your student number and password.
  2. Click Profile > Contact Details.
  3. Under the Phone section, ensure that SA Cellular is listed as the type next to your updated mobile number.
  4. Enter the number in the format 0XXXXXXXXX where the X’s represent the last 9 digits of your cell phone number after the 0, e.g. 0825551234.
  5. Also please ensure that on the Biographic tab, the Mobile Data Bundles section is set to Yes.
     

Please opt out if you no longer require data

Despite the high cost of data, the university is committed to purchasing data for students who cannot afford mobile data. However, if you already have access to Eduroam, WiFi at home, or you can afford to buy your own data, please opt out of receiving future data bundles from UCT. The more money UCT saves, the more students we can assist.

  1. Log on to PeopleSoft with your student number and password.
  2. Click the Biographic tab and in the Mobile Data Bundles section, select No.

Thank you to everyone who has already opted out.