Beware of pop-ups while browsing online

11 Oct 2017 - 12:00

Hackers are using different methods to gain access to your information. Their latest attempt is using a bogus Microsoft pop-up that appears while you’re browsing online. It warns you that your device is either blocked or infected, and that it can only be resolved if you call the provided telephone number.

What should I do if the error message appears?

Microsoft will never include telephone numbers in its warning messages.

If you get this pop-up, or one that looks equally suspicious, close your browser window. If the pop-up keeps appearing, take a screenshot of it and report it to the UCT Computer Security Incident Response Team (CSIRT) at Alternatively, you can report Microsoft-related security incidents to Microsoft’s technical support experts via the Microsoft Answer Desk.

Microsoft has also provided tips on how you can be prepared for security incidents.